Download Curvices PDF [English]


1. Program notes
2. Technical details
3. Opening, entrance

Program notes

Curvices (2013) is a digital application, a virtual poetry and sound installation for cell phones, that accompanies you on your walk through the museum park Klankenbos/ Sound Forest in Neerpelt, Belgium. By changing location you codetermine the development of the music and the poetry. Where are you? What do you hear? Is it indigenous birds that are singing in the forest or do you hear birds from Portugal through your cell phone? Is it a siren you hear or is it the wind? By exploring the terrain you probe sounds and words, you make a journey through the forest, around the world, in as many steps as you like.

The forest has been divided into ten zones, virtual spaces, each with their own composition and animation, that have been composed, designed, and programmed, respectively by Hirs, Cox & Grusenmeyer and Yvan Vander Sanden. The soundapp Curvices registers your location through the GPS on your cell phone or tablet. If you enter a new zone, the corresponding composition sounds and the animation becomes visible. If you are between zones, you hear a recognizable interlude full of birds and sparkling overtones.

Rozalie Hirs (music, poetry, voice)
Cox & Grusenmeyer (design, animation)
Yvan vander Sanden (software design, realization)
Machiel Spaan (spatial design)

Wiek Hijmans (electric guitar)
Patricio Wang (bass guitar)
Martín Ibarburu (drums)
Magnus Robb (birdsong recordings)
Carlos Dalla-Fiore (mixing, mastering)
Mathijs de Valk (technical assistance)

Technical details

Rozalie Hirs: Curvices, Map in detail (design: Cox & Grusenmeyer; spatial design: Machiel Spaan)
The composition Curvices (2013) consists of ten movements and an interlude, which correspond to the ten zones and an interzone within the soundapp:

A Six destinations (2013) duration 3’32”
B Aurora borealis (2013) duration 4’49”
C This singing of tongues (2013) duration 1’58”
D Ladders of escape (2013) duration 3’37”
E Too many snakes here (2013) duration 2’26”
F Climbing a small rock (2013) duration 3’01”
G Substance of memory (2013) duration 2’03”
H Proofs of love (2013) duration 3’40”
J Words roll into brightness (2013) duration 2’44”
K Lines of moving about desert, salt water, cities (2013) duration 1’30”
Interlude (2013) duration 17’32”

speaking voice (A, B, D, E, F, G, K)
vocals (C, H, J)
electric guitar (C, H, J)
bass guitar (A, C, H, J, K)
drums (A, C, H, J, K)
electronic and electroacoustic sounds

The composition Curvices (2013) is composed by Rozalie Hirs on the basis of her bibliophile poetry collection Curvices and Musicles (Bleiswijk: Studio 3005, 2013). The book is designed, set, and hand printed by Marc Vleugels.
Rozalie Hirs: Curvices and Musicles (Bleiswijk: Studio 3005, 2013) Chapbook cover

Lines of movement. Mark six destinations of your
choice on a map of your choice. The destinations may
possess significantly different histories, ages,
numbers of inhabitants, and snackbars. Trace six
different paths of your choice from [here] to each
of the destinations, adding up to thirty-six different
paths. Add one more path connecting all six places,
preferably with the shortest possible distance, taking
into account unsurmountable obstacles such as mountains,
lakes. Buy one pair of new shoes. Pack your backpack.
With what? A tent, sleeping bag, gun?

The total duration of the entire compostion is 47’11”. The duration of the sound walk is determined by each individual visitor.

Opening, entrance

23 November 2013, 15:00 CET, Official opening with a guided tour and lecture by Rozalie Hirs, Cox & Grusenmeyer, and Yvan Vander Sanden.

From 23 November 2013 onwards the installation is permanently accessible to the public, and free of entrance fee. The Curvices sound and poetry app (2013) is available as a free download through scanning the below QR code. Please note that the Curvices app is location specific, hence it only works when actually present at Klankenbos/ Sound Forest, Neerpelt, Belgium.


→ Nederlands