From 7-12 November 2017 the Sounds of Music Festival takes place in Groningen, The Netherlands. This year the British pianist Philip Thomas presents the world premiere of Meditations for piano and electronic sounds (2017) by Rozalie Hirs at Sounds of Music, Groningen, with additional performances at November Music, Den Bosch. In addition Oerknal New Music Collective performs works by Adams and Feldman.

concert programme
John Luther Adams – Canticles of The Sky
Rozalie Hirs – Meditations (2017; world premiere)
John Luther Adams – The Wind in High Places (2011)
Morton Feldman – Clarinet and String Quartet (1983)

Meditations was composed with financial support of a Stipend from the Netherlands Performing Arts Fund and an Artist’s Award from the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity.

Date: 2017-11-07
Time: 20:30
Location: Grand Theatre, Groningen, The Netherlands
Performers: Philip Thomas (piano) and Oerknal New Music Collective: Daniel Boeke (clarinet), Mariana Hutchinson Siemers (violin), Raphaella Engelsberg (violin), Lidwine Dam (viola), René van Munster (cello)