On Sunday 7 November 2021 Athelas Sinfonietta of Copenhagen presents a portrait concert of Rozalie Hirs.

The programme evolves around the Danish premiere of Rozalie’s dreams of airs (2017-18), a cycle in which poetry and music play equally important roles. Its sound world features eight musicians, a singer who speaks, and electronic sounds. In addition, the visual artists Boris Tellegen and Geert Jan Mulder perform the live video installation they devised for the work. Before the concert the new Danish poetry book spor al lykkebringer, translated by Birthe Lundsgaard, is presented to the public.

The score of dreams of airs (2017-18) by Rozalie Hirs is published by Deuss Music, The Hague, The Netherlands. The concert is made possible through grants of the Netherlands Performing Arts Fund and Creative Industries Fund. The new Danish book by Hirs appears with Forlaget Melodika (publisher: Peter H. Olesen).

You can watch the official trailer of Rozalie Hirs’s dreams of airs (2017-18) now on YouTube. Happy listening and watching!

Read more on the full cycle of dreams of airs.

Date: 2021-11-07
Time: TBA
Location: TBA, Copenhagen, Denmark
Performers: Athelas Sinfonietta